Morris's Bedtime Story

Each night before bed, Morris and I take turns telling bedtime stories. Well, tonight he got mad at me (I don’t even remember what I did to outrage him, those Gemenis can be so fickle) and insisted he tell his story first:

“Once upon a time there was a sweet and handsome boy named Morris (I was thinking oh, what a lovely fairytale this is gonna be). And there was a mean mommy named NORA (it is so weird to hear your kid say your first name, especially when he’s glaring at you like the Exorcist). And she wasn’t pretty.  And she was the meanest mommy in all the planets, including Atlanta (his words got faster and it started reminding me of a Homie The Clown skit at the end just before Homie whacks someone). She was such a bad mommy. I picked her up and threw her in the trash can then covered her in dirt. The police came and took her to jail. A garbage truck ran her over (I’m sitting wide eyed now and don’t know whether to stop him, laugh, or cry). THE END.”

I didn’t know how to respond, so I just told him I loved him, even when he’s angry and kissed him on the cheek. He instantly wiped my poisonous kiss off and said, “Oh yeah, and Nora never got any hugs and kisses from the boy. THE END.” I must admit it made me a little sad to hear such a mean spirted story, but then I realized he was just expressing himself with words, and that’s a good thing. Throughout time, boys have always been told not to express their feelings or let their emotions show, so I guess I’ll take one for the team and allow the verbal beatdown. 

Hopefully, all will be forgotten in the morning and I can regain my title as a nice mommy…or better yet, Pretty Mommy.

5 Comments on “Morris's Bedtime Story”

  1. bensmommy March 13, 2009 at 1:47 PM #

    Ouch!  That’s how boys are.  They really are emotional and that’s great you let him be emotional.  His future wife will thank you when he grows up.

  2. headhotmama March 14, 2009 at 1:23 AM #

    I can’t even imagine Morris married.  They don’t grow up THAT fast I hope.

  3. monnaliza March 14, 2009 at 3:37 AM #

    I think we were in the middle of defeating Darth Vader on wii when you made him go to bed…. that’ll do it!
    Oh, and I hope he NEVER has a “mean auntie and her name was MONA” bedtime story! I’m sure if he ever mentions me, it’s always – “the best auntie in the whole wide world and to infinity and beyond……”

  4. headhotmama March 14, 2009 at 2:06 PM #

    Yeah yeah.  You should change your user id from monnaliza to Auntie Mona so everyone will know how bias your commentary is.

  5. headhotmama March 14, 2009 at 2:07 PM #

    An “In Living Color” on dvd ad just came up on the bottom.  That’s pretty funny.

Leave a comment