Mariah Is Jenny Craig Ambassador

I’ve talked about how Beyonce’s pregnancy is the great equalizer for women to see her as “human”.

With all her success, beauty, and talent it was hard for Middle America to relate to the Superstar. However, being a mom allows us to see her experience the same things all moms endure with pregnancy: morning sickness, cravings, and WEIGHT GAIN.

Losing the baby weight after pregnancy isn’t easy. In addition to adapting to life with a new baby, many women struggle with getting their pre-baby body back.

Five time Grammy award winning artist Mariah Carey (and my imaginary BFF) is no different.

In April 2011, she gave birth to twins, Moroccan and Monroe.

During her high risk pregnancy, she had gestational diabetes and severe edema. Towards the end of the pregnancy, she was ordered on bedrest.

Naturally, weight gain followed.

Mariah said she never weighed herself during the pregnancy (neither did I!) but doctors say she gained 70 pounds.

After her C-Section, she lost 40 pounds within a week, mostly water gain.

To get the remaining 30 pounds off, she began a program with Jenny Craig. She is currently the new celebrity spokesperson for Jenny and is now sharing her story of weight loss with the world.

Jenny is proud to announce it will be nationally supporting the American Heart Association’s My Heart. My Life. This will include participation by Mariah Carey.

Mimi will serve as Jenny’s lead Brand Ambassador throughout this initiative and is excited to encourage and inspire others to live healthy, happy, active lives. “I feel like Jenny and the American Heart Association together is the beginning of a world class alliance,” said Carey.

As an artist, I use my voice to entertain. But, today I want to use my voice to draw attention to a serious matter. Two-thirds of the country is placing themselves at risk for heart disease and diabetes.

She not only looks great, but feels fantastic too.

Mariah says, “The whole point of this is not just like: ‘Oh, hey, look at me and my weight loss, I’m fantastic.’ It’s really health. Like I said, I learned it when I became helpless and felt so vulnerable like never before in my life.”

She debuted her twins, Roc N Roe on 20/20.

She also revealed that in lieu of selling their baby photos to a magazine (as many celebs do) a website for Dem Babies has been setup to share family photos with her fans.

The site also raises money for her charity, Fresh Air Fund.

I admire Mariah and all her accomplishments.

She’s sold over 200 million albums worldwide,  has more #1 singles than Elvis (18 to be exact), has a clothing line, and 12 fragrances.

She’s written, produced, and directed her own music and videos since she was 18 years old.

Now my Bestie can add Mom of 2 to her list.

Congratulations Mariah! You are a shining example of a Hot Mama…smart, stylish, and strong.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Love Mariah On HSN « A Hot Mama - November 21, 2011

    […] year, she is a new mommy to twins Morrocan and Monroe, has a fabulous body from Jenny Craig, and a hot Christmas duet with Justin […]

  2. Mariah’s 1st Performance Since Giving Birth « A Hot Mama - March 2, 2012

    […] She looked great in a form fitting black gown. […]

  3. Mariah Carey’s Shape Magazine Cover « A Hot Mama - April 21, 2012

    […] She gained over 60 pounds during her pregnancy. With the help of Jenny Craig, she lost 30 pounds in 3 months. […]

Leave a comment