Don’t Say The R-Word

My kids say “SHIT”.

I don’t mind, as long as they use it appropriately and in extreme situations.

When Mo spent 3 hours putting together a Lego village, then accidentally dropped it, umm yeah, saying SHIT was ok.

When Mo was playing Temple Run and fell 100 points short of breaking his 3 million point record, saying SHIT was ok.

When B spent 20 minutes at the park sandbox making tunnels and castles only to have them stepped on and destroyed by 2 bratty kids, saying SHIT was ok.

I consider myself slightly tolerant.

HOWEVER, when we were listening to the radio and a song came on that Mo didn’t like he said, “This song is RETARDED“.

I almost lost it.

He would have been better off saying “This song is SHIT”.

I can’t stand the R-Word!

I let my kids say certain curse words (under approved circumstances), but I absolutely WILL NOT let them say the R-Word.

Over time, the terms mental retardation and retard have been taken out of context and used in a derogatory or demeaning manner to describe someone or something.

My career in Physical Therapy began working with an Atlanta Children’s Hospital. I worked with many amazing kids with Special Needs and their families. It was such a great experience.

I went on to work with a Special Needs elementary school. I never looked forward to going to work so much everyday. The kids really touched my life with their courage, positive attitude, and loving hearts.

I also did volunteer work with the Special Olympics and my respect for people with Special Needs, their family, teachers, and caretakers continued to grow.

So when I hear people use the R-Word, I take offense. It’s hurtful.

As parents, it’s up to us to teach our kids that saying the R-Word is unacceptable.

Lead by example. Just as you’ve eliminated other derogatory and dehumanizing words, do the say with this one.

Educate yourself and your children.

There is nothing funny about making fun of other people.

You can make an online pledge to stop saying the word.

I pledge and support the elimination of the derogatory use of the r-word from everyday speech and promote the acceptance and inclusion of people with intellectual disabilities.

Tags:

4 Comments on “Don’t Say The R-Word”

  1. Grandma Tee February 4, 2012 at 1:16 PM #

    You worked with your heart and soul and touched many students and their parents at the Heritage School. Hope that you will help them again. Thanks for the very inspiring article.

    • ahotmama February 8, 2012 at 9:29 AM #

      Thanks mom. That is still one of my most enjoyable life experiences to date. So lucky to have had the experience working there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nora’s Playdate Rules « A Hot Mama - March 19, 2012

    […] My kids cuss. If they drop something or fall, there is a 99% chance they are gonna scream “SHIT or […]

  2. Happy Ending Basketball Game | A Hot Mama - February 27, 2013

    […] Mitchell, a special needs student from a Texas high school scored a basket in the final game of the season after a player from the […]

Leave a Reply

