What Makes Me Happy

My life is in such a great place right now.

The moment I began living for myself and not depending on external people or forces to bring me joy, I discovered true happiness.

I wake up and go to sleep thankful for all of life’s simple pleasures.

Having a positive outlook on life may sound trite, but it truly is amazing for your spirit.

When we face obstacles, negative people, or undesirable circumstances we also face the choice of how to cope with it.

I don’t let my thoughts and circumstances control me, I am in control of my life and emotions.

Because of these small changes I feel I’m a much better mom to my kids. They get the best of me because they deserve nothing less.

Sometimes I sit and revel in thought of all the things that make me smile, here’s what I’ve come up with:

HAPPINESS IS…

-laughing so hard your side hurts.

-knowing that somebody misses you.

-making homemade cookies.

-having someone play with your hair.

-hearing from an old friend.

-eating a hearty meal then taking a nap.

-a full tank of gas.

-wearing something lacey under my tshirt & sweats.

-the beach.

-a long hot shower.

-finding a good sale.

-a cupcake.

-hot chocolate with whipped cream.

-knee high boots.

-getting something in the mail.

-laughing for no reason with your kids.

-seeing a hot guy walk shirtless down the street.

-a good book.

-no line at the grocery store.

-finding a parking place up front.

-holiday decorations.

-fresh squeezed lemonade.

-the perfect handbag.

-a good hair day.

-eye contact with someone sexy.

-waking up and realizing you have 2 hours to lay in bed til you have to get up.

-hearing your favorite song on the radio.

-writing.

-falling in love.

-a keyboard that lights up in the dark.

-knowing you’ve done the right thing.

You can spend a lifetime chasing things you think will make you happy, but sometimes it’s right in front of you.

No matter what comes at you in life, find joy in simple things. Don’t let negative situations or people become you. Attitudes are contagious, spread joy!

The best feeling in the world is realizing that you’re perfectly happy without the thing you thought you needed.-Marxie

Tags:

3 Comments on “What Makes Me Happy”

  1. Grandma Tee November 15, 2012 at 6:50 AM #

    What an insightful article. I too believe that being happy and healthy is the matter of choice.
    Thanks for many good ideas. Looking forward to joining you in the holiday decoration and shopping.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Brand New Me « A Hot Mama - November 20, 2012

    […] find happiness in little things and discovering new joys around […]

  2. Find Happiness | A Hot Mama - March 22, 2013

    […] finally realized it doesn’t take much to be happy. It might be cliche’ but it’s so true, happiness starts from with […]

Leave a Reply

