I’m Going Back To School

RodneyI always dreamed of going back to school for my MBA.

It just never seemed like the right time:  working full time, marriage, a kid, another kid, divorce, being a stay at home mom….there was always something.

I have realized, there will never be a PERFECT time, so I’ve decided to take the steps and start my journey toward my MBA now.

After I graduated from undergrad I started working immediately in the medical field for 8 years.

I progressed quickly within my company and became Director Of Rehab at a skilled nursing facility. Eventually I went on to become Director of Marketing and secured the most lucrative contract for my employer.

When I became pregnant with my 1st son, I gave up my career to start phase 2 of my life, STAY AT HOME MOM. Raising 2 boys has been such an amazing experience. Eight years with them has greatly benefitted our family.

Here I am embarking on Phase 3 of my life: BACK TO SCHOOL.

It is a very scary and exciting thought.

Why an MBA, you ask?

I love writing my blog and look forward to branding myself. I’ve been presented many business opportunities and I want to be fully involved and knowledgeable in the process.

I also co-host a show, In The Lady’s Room, and we’re looking to expand to radio and tv.

nora_lsu-game_lanisha-cole-photography-4In my “free time” I’ve consulted as a writer and marketing representative for entertainment companies in LA. I have enjoyed being back in the work field.

Having an MBA will be such a great tool to help me advance in this new phase of life.

Soooo…..what amazing school will I grace my presence with????

Come on, there is only 1 place for me, and (you already know) it’s the MIGHTY LSU TIGERS!!! *cue the Tiger band*

I’m taking it back to where it all started.

LSU is in it’s first year of their online MBA Program. It couldn’t be more perfect for me.

I will be able to obtain my degree from THE BEST school in the country right from the comfort of my laptop in Los Angeles.

Well…I first need to pass their admissions and take the GRE or GMAT, but I’ve started the application process and I’m so excited.

Don’t give up on your dreams and goals.

Never in a million years did I imagine I’d be doing homework alongside my 4 and 8 year old sons.

So, buckle up and enjoy my journey towards my MBA, I’ve got to get GEAUXING and start studying!

Tags:

5 Comments on “I’m Going Back To School”

  1. Iowa Mom May 5, 2013 at 9:38 PM #

    So inspiring. Best of luck to you Nora.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Journey Towards My MBA « A Hot Mama - January 8, 2013

    […] Soooo…I told you guys I was in the process of applying to school for my MBA. […]

  2. MBA…Here I Come | A Hot Mama - March 19, 2013

    […] all, getting my MBA has been a thought long before Mo and B were even […]

  3. 50 Most Powerful Moms of 2013 | A Hot Mama - May 8, 2013

    […] a mom and MBA student, Working Mother’s list of the 50 Most Powerful Moms of 2013 caught my […]

  4. Back to School Mom | A Hot Mama - May 30, 2013

    […] After 15 years I’ve gone back to school. […]

Leave a Reply

